Reading Challenge Update: February

Published March 2, 2015 by HomburgerNaeNae

Given that February is a short month and that it was the month from Hell for me -between loads of tests and papers all being due at once and personal things to be adding stress- I thought that I would just slide by on my two school assigned books for this month. But I actually did pretty good! I guess it’s a good thing that I read for escapism as well as for knowledge and enjoyment purposes. Stressed? There’s a book for that.

Here’s my lineup for February and where they land on the Reading Challenge checklist:

225px-Tolkien_-_Man_and_Myth[1]

Tolkien: Man and Myth by Joseph Pearce (A non fiction book)

Found this one in the school bookstore and I had to make it mine. Nothing is more interesting than the man behind LOTR. =3

PridePrejudice423x630[1]

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t)

This is pretty much the only possible book I could have put into this category, as I typically read all of my books for school. But I had an Introduction to Prose class in college a few years back and I never got past the first two or three chapters in Pride and Prejudice despite it being required reading. Shameful. However, this time around I quite enjoyed it. Not one of my ultimate favorites by a long shot, but I did gain an appreciation for it which is all I can really hope for.

great-expectations-charles-dickens-paperback-cover-art[1]

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (A book from your childhood)

Believe it or not, YES, Great Expectations is from my childhood. Or early teenhood. Whatever, they’re all the same. I had read it a long time ago but I only barely remembered it, so re-reading this for class was a blast from the past. Loved it even more the second time around though. Everyone who complains that this novel is too depressing… I don’t understand. It’s a hopeful one for me.

51QXd-ThaTL[1]

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor (A book set in a different country)

Another blast from the past! I was absolutely OBSESSED with this book (and its sequel) when I first read it six years ago. Although it doesn’t quite rank up there with the masters, I would still say that after the Lord of the Rings this was hands down the most influential book I’ve experienced. The obsession I had with it led to some good changes in my life. I put it into this category because it actually takes place in two different countries: London and Wonderland.

9781435142886_p0_v5_s260x420[1]

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol (A book that became a movie)

I haven’t read this book in forever, but it seemed to be the natural choice after finishing the Looking Glass Wars. Plus, I loved Tim Burton’s film¬†reimagination of this book so it fit the category well.

Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Found There by Lewis Carrol (A book with nonhuman characters)

Nonhuman characters… I should say so. Pretty much everyone other than Alice is some type of weird creature.¬†This is possibly the most insane mindtwist of a story that I have ever come across. It makes Inception look like Mother Goose. Was Lewis Carrol high when he wrote this? ….Possibly. Maybe even probably.

One comment on “Reading Challenge Update: February

  • Leave a Reply

